Orange County Section

High School Chemistry Teacher of the Year Award

In 2017 OCACS instituted an Award for the Orange County Chemistry Teacher of the Year.

Past winners of The Orange County Chemistry Teacher of the Year Award have been:

2019 - Kim Ngo, Corona Del Mar High School(photo)
2018 - John Burns, Westminster High School, Westminster (photo)
2017 - Kelli Gaines of Trabuco Hills High School, Mission Viejo (photo)

All nominees must be full-time teachers in Orange County at either a public or private high school. It is not necessary to be a member of ACS to be eligible. Nominations may be submitted by teachers and administrators at High Schools in Orange County, CA (i.e. teachers may nominate their colleagues).

The award will be presented at the High School Awards Dinner in the following May. The winning candidate is awarded a plaque, a year's membership in the American Association of Chemistry Teachers (AACT),and a cash prize.

For more information about this Award, contact Dr. Carol Grimes at